The Next Phase & A Fresh Start

Steve walking down a road in Yosemite

As of June 1, I am no longer an employee at 3Cloud. I am now officially on long term disability. This marks the first time since I graduated from high school that I am not working full time in some capacity.

A Little History

Bethany House Publishers logo

I started working with technology around 1995. My career started with Microsoft Access with which I built a warehouse management solution for Bethany House Publishers.

Magenic logo

I was recruited from there to work with Magenic as a VB developer. I learned about SQL Server and fell in love with databases. From there I learned how to use Analysis Services and really enjoyed working with MDX. That is right, I actually like working with multi-dimensional models and with MDX. I continued to work with these tools and built up a good reputation and skillset in that area. Star schemas and multi-dimensionality just made sense to me. During my time at Magenic, I developed my technology leadership and presentation skills. I became a Practice Lead and drove business and technical expertise in the data (SQL Server), collaboration (SharePoint), and integration (BizTalk) areas.

Xata truck

My time there was split around a stint at Xata, a transportation management company. It was here that I created Data on Wheels. This became the brand I would use for the next 14 years to disseminate technology learning in data and business intelligence. I would eventually move over to Pragmatic Works to continue my focus on data.

Original Data on Wheels logo
Pragmatic Works logo

While I was at Pragmatic Works, I started to specialize in presales and would eventually lead that team. I would go on to lead the entire consulting organization. During that time, I would spearhead the move to Azure and cloud data work. We would eventually be acquired by 3Cloud and grow their data team substantially. I worked closely with management to help grow the data business including building up our Microsoft Fabric expertise.

3Cloud logo

In my second year at 3Cloud, I was diagnosed with ALS. This would change my career and life in so many ways. The company has treated me very well given this situation. They have given me great support through this journey right up to the very end of my time there which was at the beginning of June 2024. I am happy that they stood by me through all of this. I wish them the best as they continue to grow and become the best Azure company in the world!

What’s Next?

Fabric 5 thumbnail

In the next phase of my journey, I plan to continue to give back to the data community for as long as I am able. I will try to speak when I can, which will depend on how I am doing and how I am sounding. I also plan to continue recording Fabric videos. My hope is to do some additional content on accessibility with Fabric including how to use various features to support development in practical ways (I will not be typing a lot of code). I am going to work with CoPilot in the various tools such as Fabric, M365, and Windows and share how it can help someone like me continue to be productive in a work setting.

I will continue to educate anyone who will listen on ALS and how to keep living with it and working with it. As this disease continues to ravage my body, my plan is to continue to share how to work with it and how to enjoy the best life you can while you can!

I will not give up!

I will not give in!

I look forward to sharing journey with all of you and I hope you enjoy it with me. Thank you for all the support through the years and all the support yet to come.

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” – Jeremiah 29:11 (NLT) (emphasis mine)

3 thoughts on “The Next Phase & A Fresh Start

  1. Donald Parish

    Steve, I admire your courage in the face of challenges. I don’t know that I would be as strong. I look forward to seeing more Fabric videos. I may steal your idea of 5 minute videos for myself someday!

Leave a comment