Countdown to PASS Summit 2012 – 7 to Go – My First Summit Presentation

30 10 2012

Seven days, one full week, until opening night at Summit 2012. Getting excited yet?

In my first post of the series where I discussed my first Summit, I mentioned that I also spoke at that conference. In 2007, I was accepted to speak on the fairly new XML Data Type Methods. I had been using them at XATA at the time, but found the documentation a bit lacking. As a result, I put together a presentation that reviewed the basics of using these methods. At the conference, I attended a session prior to mine that was a deep dive on these very same methods by Michael Rys (@SQLServerMike). Turns out Michael was on the project team at Microsoft at the time for the XML additions in SQL Server. I remember his session bringing up more than I had worked with at the time and giving me some good ideas. So, when I started my session and Michael showed up, I got a bit nervous. I made it through my first presentation at a national conference. Michael helped with a couple questions that came up during the session which was really cool. After the session, I caught Michael to ask how it went seeing he had a level 400 and I had a level 100 session on the same subject matter. He made the comment to me that I had covered the 80% use case while he had covered the 10% use case. Needless to say, I found it very encouraging and to this day enjoy speaking on the 80% use case more.

Who are some of your favorite speakers? Why do you frequent their sessions?

Actions

Information




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 811 other followers

