Installing PowerPivot on an Existing Farm

At my current customer, we are putting together a sandbox MSBI environment with SharePoint as well.  We installed and configured SharePoint, SQL Server, Analysis Services, and integrated Reporting Services.  I was preparing to put together a PowerPivot demo in SharePoint and started to install it.  So here is where the fun began.

First, you need to use the SQL Server 2008 R2 install to

Next, you need to LOGIN using your Farm admin account and from what I could piece together, that user MUST have the following privileges.

  • SysAdmin on SQL Server
  • Local and Domain Administrator
  • SharePoint Farm Administrator

Of course, all of this violates any concept of minimum privileges for users.  While this level of access may not have been absolutely necessary, it is definitely where I ended up to get this working.  (The moral of this story is to install PowerPivot on new farms only?)

Here are some of the links I used to get me pointed in the right direction.  I would be interested in hearing if anyone else has had this issue and resolved it differently.

Now that it is running I can put the rest of my demo together.  This sure seemed more painful than it had to be.

