Countdown to PASS Summit 2012 – 9 to Go – My First Summit

28 10 2012

We are less than ten days to the start of PASS Summit 2012. I thought it would be fun to put together a countdown blog series so here goes. My first blog is about my first PASS Summit. I attended my first PASS Summit in 2007 in Denver, Colorado. At the time, I was working for XATA Corporation as their data architect. I had attended a different conference a couple years before, but was introduced to PASS through my local user group (PASSMN). The Summit had a better list of topics and presenters and I was very interested.

I would travel to this conference alone and I really only knew a couple of the other attendees. As far as I remember, there was not as much there for first timers. I felt further out of place as a first time speaker (later on that) and did not know all of the regulars. Ironically, back then, I was not very interested in networking, I came to learn. Little did I know how that would change throughout the years that have followed. I wanted to attend a lot of sessions and learn as much as possible. (I heard Itzik for the first time, and learned to love T-SQL even more. J)

So, what how was your first Summit? What was your focus? Did you network, learn, or were you able to do both?

Only nine days to go. I hope to see you there! If it is your first time, take advantage of the first timer programs. It is a great event made even better as a result.

Actions

Information




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

