A Visit to the Eugene Area SQL Server User Group

7 06 2012

When in Portland… 

This week I am in Portland, Oregon working with a customer.  While I was here, I thought about checking out a local user group.  After eugene-orgoing through the list of PASS groups in the Northwest, I found that the Eugene user group was meeting last night, June 6.  First things first, how far away is that?  Turns out it was about 1 1/2 hours.  That was doable.  They started at 6:30 so I should be able to get down there only be a bit late (I was actually 40 minutes late).

Greg Larsen was speaking on DMVs.  It was a fun presentation on how to use DMVs to determine what was going on in the server.  I learned some more information about DMVs and Alice in Wonderland.

I also had the chance to meet some new SQL Server peers in a part of the country that I would normally not be in.  Maybe there will be a chance to speak at the group if I continue to be in the area.

My encouragement to all of you is that if you are traveling fPrintor work, check out a group in an area you would not normally be in.  One thing is very true about the SQL Server community, we are a community.  Also, if you are a speaker or chapter leader, and you know you will be traveling for work, you should check out the groups in that area and see if you can contribute by speaking or just building connections for an evening.  You never know who you might meet there and then hopefully again at the Summit.

Thanks again to the Eugene user group for letting me come and hang out for an hour or so.  It was well worth the trip.  Best of luck to you all as you continue to grow.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 734 other followers

